Tags

, , ,

In my daily search across the web, I found these simple ideas to pamper you footsies. During my week my feet see the inside of wedge sneakers, flats, and the occasional high heel. While I’m puttering around at home I’m mostly barefoot in a pair of footies. Yes, I know. My foot care leaves something to be desired. When a few of my friends get together you can always rest assure that somewhere in our gabby back and forth the subject of achy feet pops up. Let’s face it girls. Our dogs are too tired!~

So today I’ve decided to share a few DIY recipes I’ve found to help us with our tired, achy, down-right pitiful feet. Since I’m a bit frugal. Yes, I said frugal…not cheap, I’ve found something that will save us a little cash as well.

Enjoy!

Honey Foot Soak: Fill your foot soak with warm/hot water and foot stones, which feels absolutely amazing after having your foot arched all day. I used a 1/2 cup of honey, 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and sliced one lemon. Honey: It’s a humectant – It attracts and retains moisture, which is key if you want soft feet for your sexy strappy heels. It’s also great for easing swollen feet. Apple Cider Vinegar: Not only does apple cider vinegar aid as an anti-bacterial remedy, it’s also a wonderful muscle relaxer. Lemon: I really just love the aromatic scent of lemons but it’s also perfect for removing dead skin cells.

Sit and relax for about 30 minutes (occasionally using a pumice stone). When done, rub castor oil on my feet, covered them with thick socks while sleeping. Castor oil has a variety of benefits including muscle pain relief and treating small skin infections. It’s also a great moisturizer, especially for the heels of your feet.

Here’s another.
Mix 1/4 cup Listerine, 1/4 cup vinegar and 1/2 cup of warm water. Soak feet for 10 minutes and when you take them out the dead skin will practically wipe off.

Tea Tree and Mint Homemade Foot Scrub: Ingredients: Carrier oil (I used Organic Apricot oil, something that doesn’t have a strong scent would be best), Sea salt, Organic tea tree essential oil, Organic peppermint essential oil

Directions:

  • Sterilize your jar by boiling for about 3 to 5 minutes.
  • Let it cool off.
  • Fill the jar with sea salt about 3/4 full.
  • Add the carrier oil so that it completely covers the salt.
  • Add 6 drops of each essential oil.

These essential oils are pretty strong, so if you have sensitive skin, try just a couple drops at first and see how it goes.  It can also feel pretty tingly which in my opinion feels great on my feet.  Love the clean smell too!

